Behind the EI

Students of the Entrepreneurship Initiative use the resources provided at the Garage.

At NC State, we are engaged in an effort to celebrate and grow the entrepreneurial spirit within.

The EI distinguishes itself by encouraging multi-disciplinary participation on every level — faculty, staff, industry, and most importantly, students. Our desire is to build a community both within and beyond the university that thrives on a creative, immersive entrepreneurial experience for all.

And what about you? Your dreams and questions? Your talents and time? No matter where you are along your path in life, we know that your entrepreneurial journey belongs here at NC State where creativity and innovation are at the spirit of all that we do.

Meet the Team

Tom Miller

Executive Director of the Entrepreneurship Initiative

Jennifer Capps

Associate Director of Undergraduate Academic Programs

Seth Hollar

Associate Director of Engineering Entrepreneurs Program

Beryl Pittman

Administrator Engineering Entrepreneurs Program

Megan Greer

Director of Communications and Outreach

Marshall Brain

Director of the Engineering Entrepreneurs Program

Advisory Board

Andy Spencer Albright

co-founder and President/CEO of National Agents Alliance

Brian Harry

Technical Fellow Microsoft

Donnie Barnes

Owner/Driver Tar Heel Motorsports

Donnie Goins


Julie A. Gavaghan

Executive Vice President and Co-Chief Operating Officer of Keystone Corporation

Richard L. Daugherty

IBM Retired Senior Exceutive in the State of North Carolina, Executive Director NC State University Research Corp.

Scot Wingo

President, CEO, Co-Founder of Channel Advisor

Ven Poole

CEO, Waste Industries USA Inc.

Chris Evans

Entrepreneur and Philantrophist, Co-founded DaVinci Systems

Thomas R. McPherson, Jr.

Entrepreneur Cluny Aviation LLC Managing Member

Chris Crump

Management Consultant, Angel Investor, Entrepreneur

Grant Williard

Founder, JouleBug